Sick Days

When I was little, sick days were like a unicorn, you had to be practically dying to get one. Today, 16 weeks after my last day at Target, I find it’s time to take one.

Six months ago, I learned that my job would be ending, and I launched into one of the most active times of my life. I updated my resume, made a list of what I was looking for and who might be able to help along the way, and I met them. I met hundreds of new people and had more conversations than I can relate. And it was a magical time, as well as scary, because I met people I knew I belonged with and I found that the road I was on was the right one, even if not in the right place.

And with that new confidence I stepped boldly into the next phase of my life. I set myself new targets and new deadlines and a new goal. I got on a plane and put my all into travelling, experiencing whatever life had to hold. It was even better than I’d expected.

So why now, after all of these amazing experiences, do I find it so hard to keep going? I’ve been through the worst times, right? So why does my couch have such a strong call? Have I lost my edge? Am I not on the right road?

Not at all.

For anyone who’s been going too fast for too long, the change to a more normal pace can be a jagged one. I thought, when I left for my trip, that I was taking the slower road, recharging my batteries. And I was, in a way, but there’s another step to this process of letting go, and today I find it my turn to live through this step.

Since the day I first heard those words, my pursuit of what’s next has been my most important call. But sometimes, even when you get just exactly what you want, you have to let go.

So today I’m calling in, and spending the day on the couch. The dishes can wait, the organizing can halt, because I have a date with my friends at Seattle Grace. Together, we’ll heed life’s call in the O.R., just remember Dr. McDreamy, I’m calling in from my couch.

Leave a comment