Roy’s Peak, Wanaka

Roy’s Peak, just a stone’s throw outside of beautiful Wanaka isn’t one of the Department Of Conservations’s (DOC) Great Walks, it’s just a lonely tramp that someone pointed out to me when I inquired about something nearby, reasonably interesting and accessible on foot. 

It turned out to be quite the climb.

 Edit 

The Lowlands

   

Remember the Tongariro and its stairway to heaven? The DOC bills that as New Zealand’s best one-day hike and a tramp not to be taken without due thought of the rigors of climbing for hours on end.

Roy’s Peak, however, is thinly signed and marked as a challenging hike, yes, but a 3-4 hr return. Easy!

Did anyone check the elevation on this guy? Further studies show the elevation change on the Tongariro at just less than 800 meters of climb, with a 6-8 hour estimated return. Roy’s Peak? 1300. 

Oops.

Good thing a challenge started is difficult to leave behind.

To start the day, I hitch a ride with a Seattle family passing through town on their way to Franz Josef Glacier. I enjoy the ride out of town and notice their absence when they pull away a few minutes later leaving me at the base of sheep country in what looks like a less than appealing locale.

Minutes later, though, I catch an Aussie in the perfect hiking pose and can’t bear to let him go by without capturing such a great pic. So I stop him for the photo and pick up a hiking buddy at the same time.

Thank God.

Five hours later, our legs are shaking as we near the top and look down at the ridiculous switchbacks we’ve been traversing so far. A trip like this alone would have been a nightmare. With a storyteller at your side, a joy…well as much of a joy as a 1300 meter ascent can possibly be.

 

From the path to Roy’s Peak, the valleys surrounding Wanaka are visible, each in its own turn. What seems like a large beach from below vanishes into a speck before we’re anywhere near our destination and a whole other lake and valley become visible that were previously unknown.

We set our sights on the peaks and climb slowly, but steadily toward them, promising ourselves we’re nearly there. And we are, but only halfway to Roy’s Peak. 

What?!? How can that be possible? Halfway? You’ve GOT to be kidding me.  

Nope. Our now “tiny” early target disappears in the distance as we climb higher and higher toward the height we now know we’re meant to achieve. This other peak has been an imposter.

Oh God.

Hours later we spot the last stretch with a choice of an additional moderate switchback or a narrow footpath straight along the summit’s crest. I choose the latter, of course, for who goes up a mountain and stops without experiencing the feel of literally standing on its edge? Not this girl, I’ll tell you that.

  

I do think of my mother, though, as I feel my shaking legs slip under the weight of my heavy pack on a trail with just inches of give on either side. I can’t make it this far and die, right? Right.

A few minutes later I stand at the very top on a platform with a much wider berth and gratefully pull off pack and boots to enjoy the view.

    

The trip back down is much faster and seems easier at first, but reality hits me 24 hours later when legs not sore like this since two-a-days ruled my life have me cringeing in bed and begging the hiking Gods for mercy on my next trek.

Three days later my legs show signs of improvement and I try to push visions of old coaches out of my mind as I resolutely stand by my choice to be a couch potato in my post-college life and turn hiker at the drop of a hat with a ginormous pack strapped to my back.

Oh well. No one every said progress was pretty, right? Not this girl, I’ll tell you that.

One thought on “Roy’s Peak, Wanaka

  1. Wow, Amy! It’s beautiful! Thanks for going all the way so I could see the view without having to hike to it. Love YOU!

    Like

Leave a comment